Book Marketing

The Authors Marketing Powerhouse

A. Colin Wright
  • Male
  • Kingston, Ontario
  • Canada
Share on Facebook Share
  • Blog Posts
  • Events
  • Groups
  • Photos
  • Photo Albums
  • Videos (1)

A. Colin Wright's Friends

  • Victoria Aldridge Washuk
  • David H. Donaghe

Gifts Received

Gift

A. Colin Wright has not received any gifts yet

Give a Gift

 

A. Colin Wright's Page

For immediate release

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**:: LITERARY FICTION ITALIAN CULTURE CANADIAN LITERATURE
I
BOOK ORDERS, contact
www.iUniverse.com, http://www.amazon.com or http://www.amazon.ca
Tel: 1-800-AUTHORS
Finding One’s Self on a Romantic Island That Time Forgot
Sardinian Silver


KINGSTON, ONTARIO – How many young people have dreamt of self and sexual discovery in a far off, exotic place? Arthur Fraser, the main character of Sardinian Silver (published by iUniverse) by A. Colin Wright, not only dreamt of it, he realized his dream. Recruited to represent a travel firm from his homeland of Great Britain, Arthur arrives in the resort town of Alghero on the Island of Sardinia in the Mediterranean Sea and is instantly bewitched. Based on his own time on Sardinia, Wright’s captivating and oftentimes hilarious novel follows the exploits of a young man trying to find love while assimilating to an archaically orthodox society.

Sardinian Silver opens with Arthur sailing across the Tyrrhenian Sea towards his new home. On his journey to Sardinia, Arthur meets a native Sardinian named Gavino. Eager to make a new friend, let alone a British one, Gavino strikes up a conversation with Arthur and quickly offers to show Arthur his island. Gavino is the first in a cavalcade of characters, serious, humorous and tragic, that help make Sardinian Silver the engaging recollection that it is.

Once settled into the Sardinian resort at which he is working, Arthur sets out on achieving the one thing he wants most; finding a Sardinian girlfriend. He knows that this will not be easy, as Gavino has already warned him. Sardinia in the 1960s was still very culturally undeveloped. Sardinia’s residents viewed mainland Italians and continentals (the British counted among them) as immoral and contaminated by modern society. Still, this does not dissuade Arthur from his task.

It was ten past nine. Quickly the girls had gone.
Parties like this were so promising, yet so empty. I recall another one, with Gavino and some of Marcella’s friends, where one girl enjoyed a few hidden caresses while we clutched together publicly, but reacted scornfully when I attempted to get her outside alone, and the others were quite shocked. Except for Marcella, who made fun of me. Hug and hold tightly in a dance, but be satisfied with this brief, despairing feel of another body, for it’s all you’re going to get unless you pay a prostitute for more: southern Italy in a nutshell. Yet Sardinia was a land of promise, which I loved even if it remained unfulfilled.

In the tradition of Brideshead Revisited and The Lost Girl, Sardinian Silver is a charming and witty novel of growth, loss and realization that is sure to delight even the most critical reader.

A. Colin Wright was born and raised in the county of Essex, England. After serving as a linguist in the British Royal Air Force, Wright attended Cambridge University where he earned undergraduate and graduate degrees. In 1964, he was appointed a professor of Russian at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. He remained at Queen’s until his retirement in 1999 and still resides there today. Dr. Wright is married and has two grown sons. See also www.sardiniansilver.com, www.acolinwright.ca and www.authorsden.com/acolinwright

Available from www.iuniverse.com ISBN Hardcover 978-0-595-71601-2 Also at http://www.amazon.com, and other sites Paper 978-0-595-48100-2
###

A. Colin Wright's Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Comment Wall (1 comment)

You need to be a member of Book Marketing to add comments!

Join Book Marketing

At 6:21pm on May 8, 2012, Victoria Aldridge Washuk said…

Thanks I will definitely do that. 

 
 
 

© 2017   Created by Don McCauley.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service